

PO Box 1239, WODONGA VIC 3689, AUSTRALIA +61 2 6024 5349 | info@apen.org.au | www.apen.org.au

APEN Ltd works to support professional development in extension and related fields in Australia,

New Zealand and the broader Asia Pacific region

Annual General Meeting: MINUTES

The Australasia-Pacific Extension Network Ltd Annual General Meeting was held by Web-conferencing on Friday 23 October 2020 at 12noon AEDT.

1. Opening Business

- Welcome: Graham Harris (President) welcomed everyone to the 2020 AGM and acknowledged everyone and all the communities that they live within.
- Attendance: Graham Harris, Peter Long, Nicole Sallur, Noel Ainsworth, Jordan Villaruz (Qld), Adrian Englefield, Anthony Kachenko, Callen Thompson, Greg Mills (NSW), Chrissy Stokes, Denise Bewsell, Heather Collins (NZ), Jeanette Gellard (SA), Morag Anderson, John James (Tas), Debbie Twiss, Sarah Thompson, Shayne Hyman (Vic), John Noonan (WA) and Rosemary Currie (Minutes).
- Apologies: Patricia Hamilton, Sandy Gunter (SA), Roy Murray-Prior, Jeff Coutts, Andrew McKay,
 Lawrence di Bella, Dana Kelly, Angus Dunne, Chengdong Liao, Caroline Coppo (Qld), Sarah Hain (NT),
 Neels Botha (NZ).
- Observers: Nil
- <u>Minutes of Last Annual General Meeting</u> [These were taken as read and were available: www.apen.org.au/2020-annual-general-meeting]

Motion: "That the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting be accepted as a true record of

proceedings"

Moved: Peter Long Seconded: Denise Bewsell Carried

- **2. Reports** [as tabled in <u>Annual Report</u>] Graham thanked Pat Hamilton (APEN Editor) for putting the Annual Report together. It was made available to those attending and was taken as read. There were no questions.
 - President's Report
 - Treasurer's Report
 - Company Secretary's Report
 - Audited Financial Statements and Auditor's Report

Motion: "That the reports be accepted"

Moved: Jeanette Gellard Seconded: Nicole Sallur Carried

- 3. **Special Resolutions** There are two proposals from the Board for discussion and member approval.
 - a. **Addition of a Professional APEN membership category** [Members were notified 21 days before the AGM that the Proposal was available on www.apen.org.au/2020-annual-general-meeting]

The intention behind the proposal is to add value to APEN membership and to increase recognition of extension skills. A question was asked about the administration involved. This will not be large as it is based on self-assessment. The new Professional Membership will start from July 1, 2021.

Motion "That the proposal for the addition of a Professional APEN membership category be accepted and adopted."

Moved: Heather Collins Seconded: Greg Mills Carried

b. **Revised APEN Ltd Constitution** [Members were notified 21 days before the AGM that the <u>New Constitution</u> and the current one were available on <u>www.apen.org.au/2020-annual-general-meeting</u>]

Legal advice and assistance had been sought to check that the APEN Constitution was fit for purpose. The main changes were the removal of operational material which can go into Board procedures.

Motion "That the revised Constitution be accepted and adopted"

Moved: Anthony Kachenko Seconded: Peter Long Carried

4. Vote of thanks to Graham Harris, retiring President

Graham Harris is stepping down from the role of President today and will continue in the Past President role until the next AGM. His time and efforts on the former APEN Management Committee (MC) and the current APEN Board as President are greatly appreciated. Anthony Kachenko (President Elect) commented that he had been pleased to work alongside Graham and valued his contribution and looked forward to that continuing over the next 12 months while he is Past President.

Motion: "That a vote of thanks be given to Graham Harris for his time on the former APEN Management Committee and the current APEN Board as President"

Moved: Chrissy Stokes Seconded: Denise Bewsell Carried

Graham commented that he had appreciated the support of the Board, the Board Committees and the Regional Coordinators and their willingness to contribute and help out with APEN. He had enjoyed his time on the MC and Board and will continue to be involved.

5. Election of the Board [Graham Harris, Past President, acted as Returning Officer for the Elections] The continuing Directors are: Les Baxter, Heather Collins, Jeanette Gellard, Patricia Hamilton, Peter Long, Roy Murray-Prior and Company Secretary, Roe Currie.

The following Nominations were received for vacant positions.

Position	Name	Nominator	Seconder	Date received
President	Anthony Kachenko	Patricia Hamilton	Adrian Englefield	22/09/2020
Director	Nicole Sallur	Peter Long	Graham Harris	25/09/2020

Motion: That President and Director nominated by the due date and named as above be duly elected.

Moved: Jeanette Gellard Seconded: Heather Collins Carried

Graham expressed his congratulations to Anthony and Nicole.

6. Election of Regional Coordinators (RCs) for the Regional Activities Committee (RAC)

The continuing RCs are Sandy Gunter (SA) and Adrian Englefield (NSW).

Thanks to retiring RCs Jacob Betros (NT), Andres Jaramillo (Qld), Shayne Hyman (Vic), Morag Anderson (Tas).

The following people have nominated for the RAC.

Position	Name	Nominator	Seconder	Date received
NZ RC	Chrissy Stokes	Sophie Merwe	Osamu Francis	03/09/2020
NT RC	Sarah Hain	Greg Owens	Simone Cameron	24/08/2020
NSW RC	Callen Thompson	Maria Thompson	Wendy Gill	23/09/2020
Qld Nth RC	Caroline Coppo	Daryl Parker	Howard Smith	21/09/2020
Qld Sth RC	Noel Ainsworth	John Tyas	John Agnew	01/09/2020
Tas RC	Ossie Lang	Morag Anderson	Donna Lucas	23/09/2020
Vic RC	Sarah Thompson	Cath Lescun	Lisa Birrell	17/09/2020
WA RC	Karen Smith	Renee Manning	Janet Conte	29/09/2020

Motion: That the Regional Coordinators named as above be duly elected.

Moved: Denise Bewsell Seconded: Nicole Sallur Carried

[New President, Dr Anthony Kachenko, took over the Chair]

Anthony said that he looks forward to his time as President and the engagement with members and other organisations.

7. 2020 - 2021 APEN Ltd Place of Business

Motion: "That APEN Ltd Place of Business for 2020 - 2021 be 11 Eltham Court, Wodonga Victoria"

Moved: Graham Harris Seconded: Chrissy Stokes Carried

8. 2019 – 2020 APEN Ltd Registered Office

Motion: "That APEN Ltd Registered Office for 2020 -2021 be 11 Eltham Court, Wodonga Victoria"

Moved: Denise Bewsell Seconded: Chrissy Stokes Carried

9. Appointment of Auditor 2020 – 2021

Motion "That Bob Travers and Associates of Albury, NSW be appointed as auditors for the 2020-2021

financial year"

Moved: Peter Long Seconded: Graham Harris Carried

10. Annual Membership Fee for 2021/2022

Following the motion at the 2018 AGM which recommended increasing membership fees by 5% per annum, the 2021/2022 fees (from July 2021) are as follows:

Professional Membership: \$150 + GST

Ordinary Membership: \$110.25 + GST

• Student Membership: \$55.12 + GST

Retiree Membership: \$55.12 + GST

• Life Membership: free

Please note: New Zealand Members do not pay Australian GST

APEN also offers:

- Corporate Membership
- Overseas Membership (outside Australia and New Zealand: \$33 (no GST))
- Subscription for hard copies of ExtensionNet and Rural Extension & Innovation Systems Journal \$50 + GST

11. General Business: Nil

Anthony asked if there were any items to be raised from the floor. As there was none, he closed the meeting with thanks to everyone for their attendance.

12. **Meeting Close:** 12.26 pm AEDT

Dr Anthony Kachenko

President

Dr Rosemary Currie Company Secretary (Minutes)