

# Minutes for AGM - 2023

Australasia Pacific Extension Network (APEN)

Held at Zoom 22/11/2023 @ 12:00 PM — 12:30 PM AEDT

#### No. Minutes

#### 1. Opening Business

1.1 Welcome

The Chair, Anthony Kachenko opened the meeting at 12:04pm (AEDT).

Five (5) ordinary members and/or Professional Members were required to confirm quorum.

It was confirmed by Katelyn Seary (APEN Secretariat) quorum was met.

1.2 Attendance

Anthony Kachenko, Noel Ainsworth, Patricia Hamilton, Jeanette Gellard, Simon Sankey, Patrick Di, Heather Collins, Bruce Hancock, John Ladley, Muhammad Sohail Mazhar, John James, Warwick Waters, Jane Foster, Olivia Weatherburn, Lauren Thornton, Jeanette Gellard, Jane Foster, Simon Sankey, Lauren Thornton, Sandy Gunter, Roy Murray-Prior, Peter Long, Austin McLennan, Katelyn Seary (APEN Secretariat), Aaron Lucas (APEN Secretariat)

1.3 Apologies

Apologies: Denise Bewsell, Marie Vitelli, Graham Harris, Natasha Searle, Jeff Coutts, Ossie Lang and Nicole Sallur.

Proxies: Marie Vitelli, Graham Harris and Danielle England submitted The Chair to be their proxy.

1.4 Observers

Nil to note.

1.5 Acceptance of the Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting

1.5.A APEN AGM 2022 Minutes.pdf

Motion: That the minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting be accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings

Voted and Carried

#### 2. Reports [as tabled in Annual Report]

2.1 President's Report

Anthony announced it was a privilege to work with the board and the membership base over the last three years as the President. He noted there were a lot of changes over the years which included the creation of a new corporate supporter membership type, investments in the regional coordinator activities and a great conference in Tasmania this year.



Thanks were given to those that assisted with the conference.

Anthony opened the floor for questions.

John James asked how many members APEN currently have. Noel Ainsworth advised around 446 members.

#### 2.2 Treasurer's Report

Roy Murray-Prior dialled in on the phone and spoke to his report. The connection was poor and it was difficult to hear him clearly. It was noted there was a small financial loss last year, but assets increased.

Anthony Kachenko opened the floor for questions. None were asked.

#### 2.3 Audited 2022 - 2023 Financial Statements and Auditor's Report

2.3.A APEN Annual Report 2022 - 2023 Final (with Auditor's Report).pdf

Anthony Kachenko noted the documents were circulated in advance of the meeting.

Motion: That the 2023 APEN reports be accepted.

Voted and Carried

#### 3. Vote of thanks to Dr Anthony Kachenko, outgoing President

Roy Murray-Prior spoke highly of Anthony Kachenko's achievements and work undertaken as the APEN President.

Anthony Kachenko advised he would continue on as the Immediate Past President for another year.

The motion was presented.

Motion: That a vote of thanks be given to Dr Anthony Kachenko for his service to APEN.

Voted and Carried

### 4. Election of the Board

Nominations were called from the membership for up to 4 positions vacant or falling vacant at the conclusion of the 2023 Annual General Meeting.

Anthony Kachenko spoke to the Board positions that were vacant and roles that were nominated to be filled. Votes were carried out for the following motions.

Motion: That Dr Muhammad Sohail Mazhar be elected to the APEN Board

#### Voted and Carried

Motion: That Olivia Weatherburn be elected to the APEN Board

# Voted and Carried

Motion: That Simon Sankey be elected to the APEN Board

#### Voted and Carried

Motion: That Nicole Sallur be re-elected to the APEN Board

### Voted and Carried

Anthony Kachenko congratulated everyone who was elected today.

The continuing Directors were: Noel Ainsworth, Pat Hamilton, Peter Long, Nicole Sallur and Roy Murray-Prior.



#### 5. Election of APEN President

The APEN Board endorsed the following nomination:

Noel Ainsworth - President

Motion: That Noel Ainsworth be elected APEN President

Motion for Noel Ainsworth was Voted and Carried

#### 6. Election of Regional Coordinators (RCs) for the regional Activities Committee

Anthony Kachenko spoke to the Regional Coordinator positions that were vacant and roles that were nominated to be filled. Votes were carried out for the following motions.

Motion: That Lauren Thornton is elected Northern Territory Regional Coordinator

#### Voted and Carried

Motion: That Tim Bradley is elected Queensland South Regional Coordinator

#### Voted and Carried

Motion: That Dr Sue Street is re-elected New South Wales Regional Coordinator

Voted and Carried

# 7. Appointment of Auditor 2023 - 2024

Motion: That Bob Travers and Associates of Albury, NSW be appointed as auditors for the 2023-2024 financial year.

Voted and Carried

8. Confirm the appointment of the Company Secretary and the physical address of the APEN's registered office

The APEN Constitution requires that the membership confirm the appointment of Company Secretary and the Physical address of the Company's registered office.

Motion: That Megan Ogier, from the Association Specialists, continues as Company Secretary of APEN.

Motion: That APEN Ltd Registered Office and Physical Address for 2023 -2024 be Suite 5.02, Level 5, 655 Pacific Highway St Leonards NSW 2065.

Both motions were Voted and Carried

# 9. Annual Membership Fees for 2024/2025

The 2024 - 2025 membership fees were presented, all prices quoted were Ex GST:

Professional: \$178 Ordinary: \$127

Student: \$64 Retiree: \$64

Life: Complimentary

Overseas: (excl NZ and Austr.): \$32

Corporate Supporter 30 + Members: \$3150

Corporate Discount 5% 3-14 Members: 5% Discount on member fee



Corporate Discount 10% 15 - 29 Members: 10% Discount on member fee

10	)	G	n	ام	اد	R	110	in	<b>ess</b>

Nothing was noted.

# 11. Meeting Close

The meeting closed at 12:33pm (AEDT).